(Centrally Sponsored Scheme)

         The Community Polytechnic Scheme (CPS) was launched in 1979 by Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) and was implemented during the period 1979-2007. Having successfully implemented the scheme of CPS for nearly a three decade of period (1979-2007), the MHRD introduced the scheme called as Community Development through Polytechnics (CDTP) in 2009.
         This scheme was an improvement of the erstwhile scheme of CPS and 56 Polytechnic Colleges in Tamil Nadu selected as per the norms of MHRD, are implementing the scheme effectively.

Main objectives of the scheme

         1. To carryout Need Assessment Surveys, to assess the technology and training needs
         2. The impart Skill Development Training Programmes, to the intended target groups
         3. To disseminate Appropriate Technologies, for productivity enhancement
         4. To provide Technical & Support Services, to rural masses and slum dwellers
         5. To create awareness among the target groups about technological advancement and contemporary issues of importance – Dissemination of information


         To implement the above activities, each Polytechnic College under the Scheme has established 5 to 10 Village Extension Centres in their respective region.
         All the Polytechnic Colleges prepare their own curricula to conduct Skill Development Training Programmes relevant to the region to the general public. In each Polytechnic College every year around 600 persons, both from urban and rural are benefited by undergoing the skill development programmes conducted at the Polytechnic College (Main Centre) and at the Village Extension Centres. Each Polytechnic College under the activity of Skill Development training Programme covers a minimum of Four or Six Trades / skills to a maximum of 23 programmes.
         Every year around 50000 beneficiaries in Tamil Nadu are trained in different skill oriented conventional and non-conventional short term courses to be self supportive. Training is also given on entrepreneur development in order to help them to start their own business.
         For more information please refer the website:

S.No District Name of the Polytechnic Colleges  
Total 56
1 Sivagangai Annamalai Polytechnic College, Chettinad
2 Seikalathur Kamathi Amman Polytechnic College, anamadurai
3 Alagappa Polytechnic College, Karaikudi
4 Coimbatore Sri Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya Polytechnic College, Coimbatore
5 Nachimuthu Polytehnic College,Pollachi
6 PSG Polytechnic College, Coimbatore
7 Nanjappa Institute of Rural Development & Technology, Coimbatore
8 Government Polytechnic College for Women, Coimbatore
9 Arulmigu Chandikeswarar Polytechnic College, Coimbatore
10 GRG Polytechnic College for Women, Coimbatore
11 Government Polytechnic College, Coimbatore
12 VLB Janakiammal Polytechnic College, Coimbatore
13 Kancheepuram Bhaktavatsalam Polytechnic College, Kancheepuram
14 Meenakshi Ammal Polytechnic College, Uthiramerur
15 Meenakshi Krishnan Polytechnic College, Pammal
16 Ramnad Mohamed Sathak Polytehnic College,Kilakarai
17 Thiruvallur AMK Technology & Polytechnic College, Sembarampakkam
18 Thai Moogambigai Polytechnic College, Mugappair
19 Sri ram Polytechnic College, Perumalpattu
20 Vellore TPEVR Govt.Polytechnic College, Vellore
21 Rajagopal Polytehnic College, Gudiyattam
22 Virudhunagar P.A.C.Ramasamy Raja Polytehnic College, Rajapalayam
23 Arasan Ganesan Polytehnic College,Sivakasi
24 Ramu Seetha Polytechnic College, Karaipatti
25 VSVN Polytechnic College, Virudhunagar
26 Salem Thiagarajar Polytechnic College, Salem
27 Madurai Tamilnadu Polytechnic College, Madurai
28 Government Polytechnic College for Women, Madurai
29 Rukmini Shanmugam Polytechnic College, Madurai
30 Seethai Ammal Polytechnic College, Madurai
31 KL Nagasamy memorial Polytechnic College, Madurai
32 Nagapattinam Srinivasa Subbaraya Polytechnic College, Puttur
33 Valivalam Desikar Polytechnic College, Nagapattinam
34 A.D.J.Dharmambal Polytechnic College, Nagapattinam
35 The Nilgiris Government Polytechnic College, Udhagamandalam
36 NPA Centenary Polytehnic College,Kotagiri
37 Tuticorin Bharathiyar Centenary Polytechnic College for Girls, Ettayapuram
38 Namakkal S.S.M.Institute of Textile Technology, Komarapalayam
39 KSR Institute of Technology, Tiruchengode
40 Muthayammal Polytechnic College, Rasipuram
41 Thanjavur Periyar Centenary Polytechnic College, Vallam.
42 Pattukottai Polytechnic College, Pattukottai
43 Chennai Dr.Dharambal Govt.Polytechnic College for Women, Chennai
44 Central Polytechic College, Chennai
45 Perambalur Thanthai Rover Institute of Polytechnic College,Perambalur
46 Theni Thangam Muthu Polytechnic College, Theni.
47 Thirunelveli MSPV Nadar Lakshmithaiammal Polytechnic College, Thirunelveli
48 Erode Annai JKK Sampoorniammal Polytechnic College, Erode
49 Sakthi Polytechnic College, Erode
50 K.K. Government Polytechnic College, Nagercoil
51 Dindigul RVS Polytechnic College, Dindigul
52 Arulmigu Palani Andavar Polytechnic College, Palani
53 Krishnagiri Government Polytechnic College, Krishnagiri
54 Pudukottai Government Polytechnic Colleeg, Aranthangi
55 Trichy Government Polytechnic College, Trichy
56 Cuddalore Muthiah Polytechnic College, Annamalainagar
Govt.Polytechnic Colleges 15
Govt. Aided Polytechnic Colleges 24
Self Financing Polytechnic Colleges 17